Harry Potter, Easter and the Passion of the Christ

“Harry understood at last that he was not supposed to survive. His job was to walk calmly into Death’s welcoming arms.”

Harry willfully walks in the the embrace of death to protect those he loves. He surrenders himself to his destiny and in the end defeats death by death. He has a choice, he could run, but he gives himself freely for the greater good.

As I was sitting in church today, I was thinking about this scene from Harry Potter over and over again. Some people might think it strange that I would be thinking about a movie while sitting in church, so I will explain why. The sermon today was all about surrender. The pastor talked about Jesus and how his whole life was nothing but surrender. First he surrendered his place in heaven to come to earth as a human. Then, he surrendered his comfort to grow up and live his life in the backwoods of the Roman empire, not really heaven on earth. And most importantly, he surrendered his life to the will of the Father and gave himself up to be nailed to a cross when he could have called down twelve legions of angels to wipe out all who would dare touch him. Jesus surrenders it all to do what I cannot.  He pays the price for my sin, but he also gives me what I need to change; because here’s the thing about surrender, I can’t do it by myself. The power to lay down myself does not come from me, it comes through the work that Christ does on the cross and the power of his resurrection. Tullian Tchividjian says it like this,

 “Therefore, it’s the gospel (what Jesus has done) that alone can give God-honoring animation to our obedience. The power to obey comes from being moved and motivated by the complete work of Jesus for us. The fuel to do good flows from what’s already been done. So again, while the law directs us, only the gospel can drive us.”

So when it comes to surrendering all to the Father in the way Christ does, I must look to what Christ has done and know it’s not about what I do, but it is about what he has done. Therefore it is through the power of the gospel that I can lay myself aside and follow him with everything I am. I can surrender, because he has already surrendered himself for me, and has given himself as a ransom for many.

Surely he has borne our griefs
and carried our sorrows;
yet we esteemed him stricken,
smitten by God, and afflicted.
But he was pierced for our transgressions;
he was crushed for our iniquities;
upon him was the chastisement that brought us peace,
and with his wounds we are healed.
(Isaiah 53:4-5 ESV)

One thought on “Harry Potter, Easter and the Passion of the Christ

What do you think?

